Making a List: Including Fun in the Caregiver’s Journey

“You need to do something fun,” a friend said.

“I’m too tired to think of something fun,” I said.

tiredMy parents were going through a particularly hard time; my mother’s behavior had gone beyond the scope of assisted living and they had advised that she go into a psych ward to have her medications re-evaluated. My father was worn to a frazzle and we were both unnerved by Mom’s zombie-like appearance as the doctors tried to figure out the correct combination of medicines. Fun seemed like a word from another planet.

Yet I realized my friend was right: I needed to do something that would cheer me onward.

Creating Fun-Sized Options

So early one morning, before I was tired or confused or sad, I made a list of little items or activities that gave me a sense of well being.

At first, the list was small—I was too brain-worn to think of much:

Eat chocolate.

Read for pleasure.

Do a crossword puzzle.

Walk outside.

Talk with people I cared about.

chocolateI crammed the list into my pocket and when I thought of something new, I jotted it down.

During the next week I added:

Listen to Dancing Queen.

Hold a stuffed bear.

Collage.

Go to yoga.

Sleep late.

Dance to Dancing Queen.

dance

Making Time for Fun While Still Being a Very Responsible Person

That weekend, I vowed I would do three things on my list. I ate chocolate (OK, that was an easy one, but I had to start somewhere!), talked with a friend, and read two chapters of a mystery.

I felt lifted up, as renewed as if I’d had four hours in the spa. And I still was there for my parents, my work, and other life responsibilities. So I continued the process of adding to my list and incorporating one fun thing into every day.  Sometimes it was only part of a crossword puzzle or creating a three-minute collage while I was on hold with my mother’s doctor. But even those few minutes gave me back a part of myself and allowed me to more fully appreciate my interesting and chaotic life.

Q for U:

How about you — what are the small fun things on your list?         And are you giving yourself time to do them?

10 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Taking Care of Yourself

10 responses to “Making a List: Including Fun in the Caregiver’s Journey

  1. Great post, Deborah. May I repost this on our blog, Depression’s Collateral Damage?

  2. Love the idea of at least one fun thing a day. That way, it becomes something to look forward to as well!

  3. One fun thing or one positive thing…great post. I awaken each day with a list of positives. Number one is to begin and end the day with prayer. The other four are devoted to seeking what makes others feel good and myself. Chocolate is a biggie and falls right in there with learning and being pro-active. Thanks Deb.

  4. Deb Edwards

    Become a Play Sister! Dedicated to Playing at least as often as you work…or worry. I liked your story a lot!

  5. Pingback: Caregiving and Self-Care | Depression's Collateral Damage

  6. Taking back your life through chocolate. Excellent strategy…dark chocolate?

Leave a Reply

